Traffic Safety
Joanne Blair Award

The Joanne Blair Award was created to honor the selfless leadership and dedication of Joanne Blair
to improving highway safety for citizens of Illinois. It will be awarded annually to an outstanding
individual and/or organization in Illinois highway safety.   The winner will be chosen by a committee of
Illinois Traffic Safety Leaders.  

If you know of an individual or organization you think should be considered, complete and attach the
form below.

Award Application(pdf)
Past Joanne Blair Award Winners

Senator John Cullerton

Judi Keippel (ITSL)

Pat Larson (AAIM)

Jesse White (SOS)

Chicago Tribune

Don McNamara (NHTSA)


Charlene Chapman (AAIM)

Dorothy Brown (Clerk of the Circuit Clerk, Cook County)


Tazewell County Teen Drinking and Driving Initiative
(Tazewell County Sheriff)

Operation Teen Safe Driving Program
(Illinois Department of Transportation, Division of Traffic Safety)

Judge Jeffrey Ford
(Campaign County, Illinois)

ITSL members and supporters are encouraged to advise ITSL, by e-mail at,
of special traffic safety efforts by those not usually directly involved with traffic safety.  The nominees
will be eligible to receive a "You Are A Traffic Safety Star" commendation certificate from ITSL.  

For example, a STAR could be a dry cleaner who has posted a “Please Don’t Drink and Drive This
Holiday Season” on their marquee.  Another example, a school that puts crashed cars outside their
building during the dangerous prom/graduation season.

The e-mail nomination must include the name and full address of the suggested STAR, a brief
description of the program, and the name and full address of the nominator.  Whenever possible,
ITSL would like to have a photo of the traffic safety project.  The STAR committee will then review the

The programs selected will receive a certificate from ITSL saying, “You Are a Traffic Safety STAR”
“with appreciation from Illinois Traffic Safety Leaders”  The certificate will be date and signed by the
ITSL President and accompanied by a letter of support.

Each STAR recipient will also be listed on the ITSL web site

Developed by Marti Belluschi 9/29/10
Green Rock Free Will Baptist Church
Colona, Illinois
1st Midwest Bank of Buffalo Grove,
Buffalo Grove Bank and Trust,
American Enterprise Bank,
Traffic Safety Coloring Contest
Dakota K Auto Repair
Arlington Heights
Arbys, Naperville
Calamos Investments, Naperville
Clear Channel, Naperville
Gas City, Naperville
Hollywood Palms, Naperville
Addison Trail High School
Crash Reenactment
Nicky's Red Hots, Naperville